Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihren Browser zur korrekten Anzeige dieser Webseite.

Department Design

The Department of Design at Zurich University of the Arts is committed to a broad, modern and forward-looking understanding of design which is applied to teaching, research and further education. Critique and reflection are placed above a solely aesthetic and usage-orientated approach.

In the seven subject areas of Game Design, Cast/Audiovisual Media, Knowledge Visualization, Visual Communication, Interaction Design, Industrial Design and Trends & Identity, urgent questions and responsibilities of contemporary design are addressed in teaching at B.A. and M.A. level and also in research and turned into innovative projects. A further education programme draws on these findings and practices, and passes them on directly as points of inspiration for the industry and the creative sector.

The Department of Design sees it as its mission to shape the design understanding of tomorrow together with students and colleagues in a cross-disciplinary way, eliciting pioneering ideas and then taking them further. Within the subject areas and interdisciplinary projects, the department successfully operates in these fields: Material Futures, Aesthetics, Gender & Identity, Emerging Technologies, Sustainability/Ecology, Interaction, Storytelling, Design Activism.

In Switzerland and abroad, the department presents projects and designers at exhibitions, conferences, festivals, in publications and on web-based platforms in order to foster exchanges with international designers, create long-term partnerships and find new opportunities for cooperation. This website provides information about the most important cross-departmental initiatives of the Department of Design and those in charge of the projects.

It is important to us to make our work in all areas of the Department of Design easily accessible to an interested public and to establish a platform for exchange and participation on design.zhdk.ch.

We wish you an enjoyable exploratory tour of the content and hope to see you regularly on our site.

Contacts

Head of Department:
Hansuli Matter, hansuli.matter@zhdk.ch

Head of the B.A. and M.A. programmes:
Corina Zuberbühler, corina.zuberbühler@zhdk.ch

Communications Officer, Department of Design:
Frederic Poppenhäger, frederic.poppenhäger@zhdk.ch

Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihren Browser zur korrekten Anzeige dieser Webseite.

Departement Design

Das Departement Design der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste verpflichtet sich in Lehre, Forschung und Weiterbildung einem breiten, modernen und zukunftsorientierten Designverständnis, dass Kritik und Reflexion über einen rein ästhetischen und nutzungsbezogenen Zugang stellt.

In den sieben Fachrichtungen Game Design, Cast/Audiovisual Media, Knowledge Visualization, Visual Communication, Interaction Design, Industrial Design und Trends & Identity werden in Lehre auf Bachelor- und Masterstufe sowie in der Forschung drängende Fragen und Verantwortlichkeiten des zeitgenössischen Designs verhandelt und in innovativen Projekten umgesetzt. Im Rahmen von Weiterbildungsangeboten werden die Erkenntnisse und Handlungspraktiken als Impulse unmittelbar an Industrie und Kreativwirtschaft weitergegeben.

Das Departement Design sieht es als seine Aufgabe, gemeinsam mit Studierenden und Mitarbeitenden disziplinübergreifend am Designverständnis von Morgen zu arbeiten und zukunftsweisende Themen zu eruieren und weiterzuverfolgen. Innerhalb der Fachrichtungen aber auch in interdisziplinären Projekten bewegt sich das Departement erfolgreich in folgenden Themenkreisen: Material Futures, Ästhetik, Gender & Identity, Emerging Technologies, Nachhaltigkeit/Ökologie, Interaktion, Storytelling, Design Aktivismus.

Im In- und Ausland präsentiert das Departement Projekte und Akteure in Ausstellungen, Konferenzen, Festivals, Publikationen und auf webbasierten Plattformen mit dem Ziel, in Austausch mit internationalen Designschaffenden zu treten, langfristige Partnerschaften zu knüpfen und neue Kooperationspartner zu finden. Auf dieser Webseite finden Sie die wichtigsten fachrichtungsübergreifenden Initiativen des Departements Design und erhalten Hinweise zu den Projektverantwortlichen.

Es ist uns ein wichtiges Anliegen, unsere Arbeit in allen Bereichen des Departements Design, der interessierten Öffentlichkeit niederschwellig zugänglich zu machen und mit design.zhdk.ch eine Plattform für Austausch und Teilhabe zu etablieren.

Wir wünschen Ihnen viel Freude beim Erkunden der Inhalte und würden uns freuen, Sie regelmässig auf unserer Webseite begrüssen zu dürfen.

Ansprechpersonen

Departementsleiter:
Hansuli Matter, hansuli.matter@zhdk.ch

Studiengangleiterin Bachelor und Master:
Corina Zuberbühler, corina.zuberbuehler@zhdk.ch

Kommunikationsverantwortlicher Departement Design:
Frederic Poppenhäger, frederic.poppenhäger@zhdk.ch