Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihren Browser zur korrekten Anzeige dieser Webseite.

Diplom 2020

Once again this year, the Department of Design is awarding the ZHdK Sponsorship Prize, which is endowed with CHF 5000, to a Bachelor's and a Master's thesis. The 20 works nominated by the disciplines were presented to the public this week via livestream by the nominees and evaluated by a jury. After a long and intensive discussion, the jury has agreed on the winners* of this year's promotional awards. Due to the numerous excellent works, the jury would also like to give special mention to three other BA theses.

The ZHdK sponsorship award for the best BA diploma thesis of the Departement Design 2020 goes to: Claudia Buck & Randy Chen with «Journey to Recovery», BA Specialization, Subject Area Interaction Design

«Journey to Recovery» is an app that uses a gripping story to improve the sleep quality of children after an accident and guides them through sleep therapy in a playful way. Every evening before bedtime, a chapter can be unlocked and something new can be learned about sleep. This is intended to counteract the decreasing interest in the course of therapy. The result is a captivating and enthralling experience that motivates and supports the children on their way.

«This work impresses with its exemplary design process, in which everything was thought of, from the self-experiment with the sleep device, to the workshop with children, to the ambitious visual language. The final product reflects the commitment of the two designers* to critically examine new technologies and apply them in a way that is appropriate for the target group.»

Project website: here
Diploma website Interaction Design: here
Find the laudation here.

The ZHdK sponsorship award for the best MA diploma thesis of the Departement Design 2020 goes to: Ronald Pizzoferrato mit «PLOMO», MA Specialization, Subject Area Trends & Identity

In Caracas, one of the most dangerous cities in the world, violence is an immanent part of the everyday life of the Caraqueños. «PLOMO» uses visual ethnographic research to investigate the influence of violence on the aesthetics of everyday products, gestures, poses and things. Through research on Instagram and on site, through workshops in Caracas and photography as a research medium, it becomes visible how the identity of a society is influenced and shaped by the daily confrontation with violence.

«An outstanding work, which is able to narrate the tightrope walk between violent images and the profound analysis of violence as a cultural phenomenon in a poetic way. Editorial means in the image are used excellently to convey a difficult topic. In addition, the intuitive mediation through pictures reaches the target group. The work has a high artistic value.»

Teaser: hier
Diploma publication: here
Find the laudation here.

A honorable mention of the jury goes to the following diploma projects:

Alessa Fanzoi with «RAT’S NEST», BA Cast/Audiovisual Media

Frustrated by her introversion, the protagonist Mia withdraws into a subway, which metaphorically stands for her emotional world. There she encounters all the strange things that her subconscious has to offer. Her fears and insecurities acquire their own bodies and so the refuge turns out to be a rat's nest. A hunt into the unknown follows and an encounter that encourages Mia to jump over her shadow. «Rat's Nest» is an animated short film about self-esteem and self-acceptance.

«Outstanding processing of a very personal experience. From the choice of colours, through the metaphorics, the dramaturgy and last but not least the perfectly coordinated composition, the short film skilfully stages the protagonist's conflict. A courageous, ambitious and very own project.»

Website: here
Movie: here

Rafael Gil Cordeiro with «print my sleep. Disfunctional discourse objects», BA Trends & Identity

Since it has become the subject of economic and social debate, sleep has not found any rest. Whether transfigured into a post-material luxury good, hailed as a tool for increasing efficiency or cursed as a wasted time - print my sleep translates the unconscious into dysfunctional objects.

«Skilfully visualizes the absurdity of our society's compulsion for self-optimization in the form of unconventionally beautiful objects. A risk-taking work that speaks an independent design language and evades the pressure of a service.»

Website: here

Filip Despotovic with «Subtype», BA Visual Communication

Unfortunately, despite their rich history, film subtitles have remained unformed and unaesthetic until today. So it happens that in a $250 million film production, you still come across a bizarrely distorted subtitle in Arial, banged at the bottom of the screen. Subtype is a new film subtitle font adapted to the medium, specifically designed for use on video and streaming platforms.

«Contemporary and ignored for far too long, an elegant balancing act between user*-friendliness and aesthetic demands. Especially outstanding is the visualization of sounds, which was developed with and for deaf people».

Website: here

This year's jury members:

Sereina Rothenberger, Professor for design, founder of Design Studio Hammer and Alumna ZHdK.
David Simon, Interaction Designer, founder Design Studio Dezentrum and alumnus ZHdK.
Michaela Büsse, PhD Researcher Critical Media Lab, Alumna ZHdK.
Philipp Meier, Social Media Editor and Content Curator at swissinfo.ch.
Corina Zuberbühler, Industrial Designer, Head of BA & MA Design and Deputy Director DDE.

We congratulate the winners of the ZHdK sponsorship award as well as the designers of those diploma projects that received an honorable mention by the jury.

«Journey to Recovery» by Claudia Buck und Randy Chen. Subject Area Interaction Design. BA Specialization. © ZHdK
«Journey to Recovery» by Claudia Buck und Randy Chen. Subject Area Interaction Design. BA Specialization. © ZHdK
«PLOMO» by Ronald Pizzoferrato. Subject Area Trends & Identity. MA Specialization. © ZHdK
«PLOMO» by Ronald Pizzoferrato. Subject Area Trends & Identity. MA Specialization. © ZHdK

Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihren Browser zur korrekten Anzeige dieser Webseite.

Diplom 2020

Auch in diesem Jahr wurde der ZHdK Förderpreis im Departement Design vergeben. Ausgezeichnet wurden eine herausragende Bachelor- und Master-Arbeit. Das Preisgeld beträgt jeweils CHF 5000.

Die 20 von den Fachrichtungen nominierten Arbeiten wurden am 17. Juni 2020 per Livestream durch die Diplomierenden öffentlich präsentiert. Nach einer langen und intensiven Diskussion entschied sich die Jury für die folgenden Gewinner*innen. Aufgrund der zahlreichen exzellenten Arbeiten erwähnte die Jury zudem drei weitere BA-Abschlussarbeiten besonders.

Der ZHdK Förderpreis für die beste BA-Diplomarbeit des Departements Design 2020 geht an: Claudia Buck & Randy Chen mit «Journey to Recovery», BA-Vertiefung Interaction Design

«Journey to Recovery» ist eine App, die mit einer packenden Geschichte die Schlafqualität von Kindern nach einem Unfall verbessert und sie auf spielerische Weise durch die Schlaftherapie begleitet. Jeden Abend vor dem Zubettgehen kann ein Kapitel freigeschaltet und etwas Neues über den Schlaf erlernt werden. Somit soll dem im Laufe einer Therapie abnehmendem Interesse entgegengewirkt werden. Es entsteht ein fesselndes und packendes Erlebnis, das die Kinder auf ihrem Weg motiviert und unterstützt.

«Diese Arbeit besticht durch den vorbildlichen Designprozess, bei dem vom Selbstversuch mit dem Schlafdevice, über den Workshop mit Kindern bis hin zu der ambitionierten visuellen Sprache an alles gedacht wurde. Das finale Produkt widerspiegelt das Engagement der beiden Designer*innen, sich kritisch mit neuen Technologien auseinanderzusetzen und diese zielgruppengerecht anzuwenden.»

Webseite: hier
Diplomauftritt: hier
Die Laudatio ist unter diesem Link verfügbar.

Der Förderpreis 2020 für die beste MA-Diplomarbeit des Departements Design geht an: Ronald Pizzoferrato mit «PLOMO», MA-Vertiefung Trends & Identity

In Caracas, eine der gefährlichsten Städte der Welt, ist Gewalt ein immanenter Bestandteil des Alltags der Caraqueños. «PLOMO» untersucht anhand einer visuell-ethnographischen Forschung, welchen Einfluss Gewalt auf die Ästhetik von Alltagsprodukten, Gesten, Posen und Dingen hat. Durch die Recherche auf Instagram und vor Ort, durch Workshops in Caracas sowie die Fotografie als Forschungsmedium wird sichtbar, wie die Identität einer Gesellschaft durch die tägliche Konfrontation mit Gewalt beeinflusst und geformt wird

«Eine herausragende Arbeit, die die Gratwanderung zwischen gewaltstarken Bildern und der fundierten Analyse von Gewalt als kulturelles Phänomen auf poetische Weise zu erzählen vermag. Editorische Mittel im Bild werden hervorragend genutzt, um ein schwieriges Thema zu vermitteln. Zudem wird mit der intuitiven Vermittlung durch Bilder die Zielgruppe erreicht. Die Arbeit hat einen hohen künstlerischen Wert.»

Teaser: hier
Diplompublikation: hier
Die Laudatio zur ausgezeichneten Arbeit ist unter diesem Link verfügbar.

Die Jury möchte die folgenden drei Bachelorarbeiten besonders erwähnen:

Alessa Fanzoi mit «RAT’S NEST», BA-Vertiefung Cast/Audiovisual Media

Aus Frust über ihre Introvertiertheit zieht sich die Protagonistin Mia in eine U-Bahn zurück, die metaphorisch für ihre Gefühlswelt steht. Dort trifft sie auf all die kuriosen Dinge, die ihr Unterbewusstsein zu bieten hat. Ihre Ängste und Unsicherheiten erlangen ihre eigenen Körper und so entpuppt sich der Zufluchtsort als Rattennest. Es folgt eine Jagd ins Ungewisse und eine Begegnung, die Mia ermutigt, über ihren Schatten zu springen. «Rat’s Nest» ist ein animierter Kurzfilm über Selbstwert und Selbstakzeptanz.

«Herausragende Verarbeitung einer sehr persönlichen Erfahrung. Von der Wahl der Farben, über die Metaphorik, die Dramaturgie und nicht zuletzt die perfekt abgestimmte Komposition, der Kurzfilm setzt den Konflikt der Protagonist gekonnt in Szene. Ein mutiges, anspruchsvolles und sehr eigenes Projekt.»

Webseite: hier
Film: hier


Rafael Gil Cordeiro mit «print my sleep. Dysfunktionale Diskursobjekte», BA-Vertiefung Trends & Identity

Seit er zum Gegenstand ökonomischer und gesellschaftlicher Auseinandersetzung geworden ist, findet der Schlaf keine Ruhe. Ob zum postmateriellen Luxusgut verklärt, als Tool der Effizienzsteigerung bejubelt oder als vergeudete Zeit verflucht — «print my sleep» übersetzt das Unbewusste in dysfunktionale Objekte.

«Visualisiert gekonnt die Absurdität des Selbstoptimierungszwangs unserer Gesellschaft in Form von eigenwillig schönen Objekten. Eine risikofreudige Arbeit, die eine eigenständige gestalterische Sprache spricht und sich dem Druck einer Dienstleistung entzieht.»

Diplomauftritt: hier

Filip Despotovic mit «Subtype», BA-Vertiefung Visual Communication

Bedauerlicherweise sind Filmuntertitel trotz ihrer reichen Geschichte bis heute ungestaltet und unästhetisch geblieben. So geschieht es, dass man bei einer 250-Millionen-Dollar-Filmproduktion immer noch einen am unteren Bildschirmrand angeschlagenen, skurril verzerrten Untertitel in Arial antrifft. «Subtype» ist eine neue, auf das Medium angepasste Filmuntertitelschrift, spezifisch ausgelegt für eine Anwendung auf Video- und Streamingplattformen.

«Zeitgemässes und viel zu lang ignoriertes Thema, ein eleganter Spagat zwischen Nutzer*innenfreundlichkeit und ästhetischem Anspruch. Besonders herausragend ist die Visualisierung von Geräuschen, die mit und für Gehörlose erarbeitet wurde.»

Diplomauftritt: hier

Jurymitglieder in der Übersicht

Sereina Rothenberger, Professorin für Design, Gründerin Design Studio Hammer und Alumna ZHdK.
David Simon, Interaction Designer, Gründer Design Studio Dezentrum und Alumnus ZHdK.
Michaela Büsse, PhD Researcher Critical Media Lab, Alumna ZHdK.
Philipp Meier, Social Media Editor und Content Curator bei swissinfo.ch.
Corina Zuberbühler, Industrial Designerin, Studiengangleiterin BA & MA Design und stellvertretende Direktorin DDE.

Wir gratulieren den Gewinner*innen des Förderpreises 2020 sowie den Autor*innen der besonders erwähnten Arbeiten.

«Journey to Recovery» von Claudia Buck und Randy Chen. Fachrichtung Interaction Design. BA-Vertiefung. © ZHdK
«Journey to Recovery» von Claudia Buck und Randy Chen. Fachrichtung Interaction Design. BA-Vertiefung. © ZHdK
«PLOMO» von Ronald Pizzoferrato. Fachrichtung Trends & Identity. MA-Vertiefung. © ZHdK
«PLOMO» von Ronald Pizzoferrato. Fachrichtung Trends & Identity. MA-Vertiefung. © ZHdK