Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihren Browser zur korrekten Anzeige dieser Webseite.

Special Formats

«Manifestos for Design» was a series of public talks initiated by the Department of Design of Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK), launched to accompany the book publication «Not at your Service: Manifestos for Design». Based on the book's multi-layered contributions and thematic settings, in each of the conversations, an author and an international guest from the arts and design environment started of a discussion.

The publication «Not at Your Service: Manifestos for Design» consolidates the wide variety of beliefs, subjects and practices of contemporary designers at Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK). It offers different approaches and insights regarding the present-day role and nature of design, and the impact it can have. It is not conceived as a finished project, but as a free-thinking testimony of its time.

Link Podcast:

Link Open Access publication:

Further Information on the publication

Collaborative design, interaction within complex systems, attention economics, the ecological shift, visual literacy, gender-neutral design, environmentally detrimental design, «quick and dirty» design ethnography, presence and trust, social responsibility, the value of ugliness, death futures, immersive technologies, identity and crises, design as a transformative discipline, Design Your Future – all of these topics are presented in this reader in random order but with passion, personal conviction and professional expertise, and offered up for debate.

Head of Department Hansuli Matter, Björn Franke

Initiated by:
Department of Design, Zurich University of the Arts

Design and Identity:
Offshore Studio

Date of publication:
Autumn 2020

With contributions from: Karmen Franinovic, Nicole Fölsterli, Ulrich Götz, Flurina Gradin, Niklaus Heeb, Larissa Holaschke, Margarete Jahrmann, Nicole Kind, Roman Kirschner, Michael Krohn, Francis Müller, Lisa Ochsenbein, Sarah Owens, Antonio Scarponi, Reinhard Schmidt, Karin Seiler, Bitten Stetter, Maike Thies, Katharina Tietze, Stefano Vanotti, Margarete von Lupin, Martin Zimper, Corina Zuberbühler